

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Black Political Caucus of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Announces 2024 Candidate Endorsements

Charlotte, NC – October 8, 2024 – The Black Political Caucus of Charlotte-Mecklenburg (BPC) is proud to announce its official endorsements for the 2024 election cycle. These candidates represent the BPC's commitment to advocating for policies that support equity, inclusion, and progress within our community. After a rigorous evaluation process, we are confident that these candidates align with our mission and values and will advocate for the issues that matter most to the residents of Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

The endorsed candidates for the 2024 election are: (Also, attached)

Office	Endorsed Candidate
President and Vice President of the United States	Kamala Harris Tim Walz
US House of Representatives District 8	Justin Dues
US House of Representatives District 12	Alma S. Adams
US House of Representatives District 14	Pam Genant
NC Governor	Josh Stein
NC Lieutenant Governor	Rachel Hunt
NC Attorney General	Jeff Jackson
NC Auditor	Jessica Holmes
NC Commissioner of Agriculture	Sarah Taber
NC Commissioner of Insurance	Natasha Marcus
NC Commissioner of Labor	Braxton Winston II
NC Secretary of State	Elaine Marshall
NC Superintendent of Public Instruction	Maurice (Mo) Green
NC Treasurer	Wesley Harris
NC Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 6	Allison Riggs
NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 12	Carolyn Jennings Thompson
NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 14	Ed Eldred
NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 15	Martin E. Moore
NC State Senate District 37	Kate Compton Barr
NC State Senate District 38	Mujtaba Mohammed
NC State Senate District 39	DeAndrea Salvador
NC State Senate District 40	Joyce Waddell
NC State Senate District 41	Caleb Theodros
NC State Senate District 42	Woodson Bradley
NC House of Representatives District 88	Mary Belk
NC House of Representatives District 92	Terry Brown
NC House of Representatives District 98	Beth Gardner Helfrich
NC House of Representatives District 99	Nasif Majeed
NC House of Representatives District 100	Julia Greenfield
NC House of Representatives District 101	Carolyn G. Logan
NC House of Representatives District 102	Becky Carney
NC House of Representatives District 103	Laura Budd
NC House of Representatives District 104	Brandon Lofton
NC House of Representatives District 105	Nicole Sidman
NC House of Representatives District 106	Carla Cunningham
NC House of Representatives District 107	Alisha O. Dew
NC House of Representatives District 112	Jordan Lopez
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 1	Shante' Burke-Hayer
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 2	Aretha Blake
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 3	Jena Culler
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 4	Keith Smith



NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 5	Faith Fickling-Alvarez
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 6	Ty Hands
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 7	Gary L. Henderson
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 8	Christy T. Mann
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 9	Rex Marvel
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 10	C. Renee Little
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 11	Elizabeth Thornton Trosch
NC District Court Judge District 26 Seat 12	Roy H. Wiggins
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners At-	Arthur Griffin, Leigh Altman and
Large	Yvette Townsend Ingram
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners District 1	Elaine Powell
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners District 2	Vilma Leake
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners District 3	George Dunlap
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners District 4	Mark Jerrell
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners District 5	Laura Meier
Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners District 6	Susan Rodriguez-McDowell
Mecklenburg County Register of Deeds	Fred Smith
Mecklenburg County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor	No Endorsement
Constitutional Amendment	Against
City of Charlotte Transportation Bonds	Yes
City of Charlotte Neighborhood Improvement Bonds	Yes
City of Charlotte Housing Bonds	Yes
energied 🦳 - and the real-state and energy of the grade of a grade of the state of	100020-000

BPC Chair, Jocelyn Nolley stated, "Our endorsements reflect our dedication to uplifting leaders who are committed to creating a more equitable and just community. We believe these candidates will be strong advocates for the policies that will improve the quality of life for all residents in Charlotte-Mecklenburg."

The BPC's endorsement process includes candidate interviews, community input sessions, and an indepth review of candidates' platforms, voting records, and their commitment to advancing the interests of the Black community in Charlotte-Mecklenburg. We believe informed voting is crucial, and we encourage all community members to exercise their right to vote in the upcoming election.

The 2024 General Election will take place on **November 5, 2024**. Early voting begins on **October 17, 2024**. We urge all voters to check their voter registration status, review the candidates, and make their voices heard at the polls.

For more information on the BPC's endorsements, please visit our website at <u>https://www.bpc-charlotte.com</u> or follow us on social media <u>https://www.facebook.com/blackpoliticalcaucus</u>

https://www.instagram.com/blackpoliticalcaucus/

P.O. BOX 26809 CHARLOTTE, NC 28221 WWW.BPC-CHARLOTTE.COM For media inquiries, please contact: Black Political Caucus of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Gina DeMunn, Publicity Co-Chair 980.999.0377 blackpoliticalcaucus@gmail.com



Mission Statement:

Through a shared vision and commitment to those we serve, the Black Political Caucus (BPC) of Charlotte-Mecklenburg will promote and enhance the power and welfare of the Black community through advocacy and education and a consistent voice in matters of education; economics; cultural, social, civic welfare; and political activity within Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

###

P.O. BOX 26809 CHARLOTTE, NC 28221 WWW.BPC-CHARLOTTE.COM